Things I now know (with a little help from good old hindsight) that would have done me well to know before.

Life is full of opportunities to learn something new isn’t it? Everyday… is how often I have an; epiphany, revelation or moment of clarity (or multiple). Up there with the most frustrating things is the feeling that immediately follows an embarrassing moment. Not quite shame, more like ‘aghhh as if I just said that.. what a fucking idiot.’ You know the one. These moments always lead me (eventually) to a revelation of some sort (I clearly over analyze everything, but hey Im pretty sure that over analyzing is a condition of the human experience)

Anyway being extremely prone to far to many of these moments (Im sure far more than most anyway) I have resolved to take note each time I manage to jump (and clear) an internal hurdle, whether that be a big life perspective altering hurdle or an insignificant and irrelevant mind chatter/ramble, argument with myself type hurdle. My list is far more extensive than I imagined it would be (and still growing) at this rate I will have to do a new one each month… maybe that would throw some consistency into my brief and chaotic blog hmmm (epiphany #27 for the day) ‘sheeeiiittt’ what have I started!? The idea has certainly snow-balled. Lets see where this takes me.

Okay here is my list to date (I started note-taking yesterday, alarming hey. I cant believe I hadn’t had this brill idea before now.)

In order of when they hit me as I am not one for alphabetizing. (definitely not in order of relevance or importance either)

Little Revelations and Life altering epiphanies

#1 Life is one big revelation
This is an important one. We tackle self doubt and self-conscious thoughts all to regularly. It is an undeniable fact that the world is going to continue spinning regardless of weather or not we are ‘All Aboard’. Apparently mindfulness can help with this and this guy has a pretty insightful blog on staying in the present yadayada

#2 Babies cry

#3 And ITS NOT MY FAULT (well not always my fault)
when I take a little to long to get my boosie out, or change his nappy (because its choccablock full) those times are my fault but the rest are not and I can deal with that.

#4 Dying cant be as bad as:
Mastitis is.
When your baby is screaming so much he sweats and you cant figure out why. (I will interject, my bub is about as settled and placid as a budgie on crack).
The nerve racking fear of falling down he stairs holding our bub every time you walk down them (at least 20 times a day)
Feeling like a failure
The constant and controlling ‘Guilty’ that accompanies motherhood
tbc…

#5 Dinner isn’t always going to be food.
New-Mum syndrome.

#6 New-Mum syndrone is a thing.
I may have put a name to it but you all know what it is… Its nearing dusk and you are yet to shower or in-fact change out of your Pj’s at all.
you think its okay to done a messy bun and wear long socks with all shoes (thongs included) it is okay
smelling like boob milk and poo becomes normal (and even pleasent in comparison to the BO you conjure up somedays)
‘doing the washing’ means throwing an armful of dirty everythings into the front loader, pressing start and then leaving them to dry in a nice neat heap in the basket.
Just like ‘doing the dishes’ now means ignoring the systematic stacking slots of the dishwasher when sliding anything on the bench into the drawers and squirting dishwashing liquid (your probably out of tablets) all over before closing and pressing start.
also tbc…

#6 Babies have the ability to awake every time mum sits down to begin her Uni work (or a new post on her blog) but will remain asleep when she is idly watching ‘Days of Our Lives’ repeats

#7 “Life is hard”… in comparison toooooo?

More to come…

Leave a Reply

