sleep crazy

This morning I found myself loading Max into the car stressed out of my mind with the poor thing crying his lungs out.

Before having a baby I would never have imagined the severity of a 5 month old missing his morning sleep. He had been awake for around 2 and 1/2 hours! which is an hour longer than he usually can bear. So as you can imagine he was hysterical. Not only does my son fight with all his might to keep his peepers open he also freaks out when I carry him into his room (he is to smart for his own good) knowing that I am about to tuck him in and eventually leave him to sleep. So after an hour of back and forth with him crying and settling (once we left is room) I found my self in the situation above.

Driving around the streets with my bedsocks and Pj’s on, might I add on this FREEZING cold morning (I sleep in summer jamie shorts and a singlet) brrrrrrrrr. Max eventually settled but i was to scared to pull into the driveway in-case he recognized his surroundings and lost it again. So we continued to drive untill I decided that I was being a massive enabler (I watch to much Doctor Phil), and started questioning my ability to parent… what if he gets into drugs in his teenage years and I am still an enabler and I knowingly give him money, playing ignorant because I don’t want him to owe drug dealers money!?. STOP IT. I am over reacting again. I think? DR. Phil?

anyway moral of the story, I never know what is best for my baby while he is still baby, so i am just going to continue to ‘do what you gotta do’ and hope that hindsight offers me something. Maybe i will get it right with baby number 2. Doubt it.

 

My son is a fan of the cat nap during the day, he wont sleep longer than 40 minutes a pop – now I know that he needs at least two sleep cycles ( 2x 40 minutes sessions) and i swear if one more person tries to tell me that i need to ‘re-settle’ him when he wakes up (AS IF I HAVENT TRIED A THOUSAND TIMES BEFORE…) I am going to make them ‘re-effing-settle’ him and see how they go with it.

Leave a Reply

